University of Georgia - Department of Geology
GEOL 1121 - Earth Processes and Environments: Physical Geology
Webpage for Dr. Bruce Railsback's lecture section

This is a page to provide links for topics relevant to the course and to post updates to the course syllabus and course schedule.

Course News:

      _____________________

      The Final Exam has been graded and final exam grades and course grades have been posted.

Course business and webpages:

Lecture information:
   A brief outline, main points, selected illustrations, and reading assignments for
     Lecture 1 - Basic Concepts (Monday, January 7).
     Lecture 2 - Plate Tectonics I (Wednesday, January 9).
     Lecture 3 - Plate Tectonics II (Friday, January 11).
     Lecture 4 - Minerals (Monday, January 14).
     Lecture 5 - Silicate Minerals (Wednesday, January 16).
     Lecture 6 - Igneous Rocks (Friday, January 18).
     Lecture 7 - Volcanic Rocks and Volcanoes (Monday, January 28).
     Lecture 7a - Volcanic Rocks and Volcanoes Continued (Wednesday, January 30).
     Lecture 8 - Sedimentary Rocks (Friday, February 1).
     Lecture 9 - Metamorphic Rocks (Monday, February 4).
     Lecture 10 - Concluding Thoughts About Rocks (Wednesday, February 6).
     Exam I (Friday, February 8).
     Lecture 11 - Rock Deformation (Monday, February 11).
     Lecture 12 - Faults (Wednesday, February 13 - Friday, February 15).
     Lecture 13 - Folds (Friday, February 15 - Monday, February 18).
     Lecture 14 - Earthquakes and Seismology (Wednesday, February 20).
     Lecture 15 - Earthquakes and Seismology II (Friday, February 22).
     Lecture 16 - Earthquakes and Seismology III (Monday, February 25).
     Lecture 17 - Earth's Interior (Wednesday, February 27).
     Lecture 18 - Petroleum Accumulations (Friday, March 1).
     Lecture 19 - Petroleum II (Monday, March 4).
     Exam II (Wednesday, March 6).
     Lecture 20 - Mechanical Weathering (Friday, March 8).
     Lecture 21 - Chemical Weathering (Monday, March 11).
     Lecture 22 - Soils I (Wednesday, March 13).
     Lecture 23 - Soils II (Friday, March 15).
     Lecture 24 - Groundwater I (Physical) (Monday, March 25).
     Lecture 25 - Groundwater II (Chemical) (Wednesday, March 27).
     Lecture 26 - Karst and Caves (Friday, March 29).
     Lecture 27 - Erosion and Streams(Monday, April 1).
     Lecture 28 - Streams and Rivers (Wednesday, April 3).
     Lecture 29 - Rivers and Deltas (Friday, April 5).
     Lecture 30 - Mass Wasting (Monday, April 8).
     Lecture 31 - Glaciers and Glaciation (Wednesday, April 10).
     Lecture 32 - Glaciers and Glaciation II: Continental Glaciation (Friday, April 12).
     Exam III (Monday, April 15).
     Lecture 33 - Landscapes and their Histories I (Wednesday, April 17).
     Lecture 34 - Landscapes and their Histories II (Friday, April 17).
     Lecture 35 - Landscapes and their Histories III (Monday, April 22).
     Lecture 36 - Geology of the Eastern US (Wednesday, April 24).
     Lecture 37 - Geology of the Western US (Friday, April 26).
     Lecture 38 - Environmental Problems and Environmental Solutions (Monday, April 29).
     Final Exam (Thursday, May 2, 2002, 12:00 to 3:00 pm, Room 200A Geology-Geography).

     Some of the slides shown in class are available from another page.

e-mail sign-up: It is sometimes useful if the instructor has student e-mail addressess. If you are willing to tell your instructor your email address, send your name and email address in a message to Bruce Railsback at rlsbk@gly.uga.edu. Student email addresses will not be revealed to other students, will not be released to anyone else, and will be used only by the instructor or a departmental representative for messages pertaining to class business.

Student athletes can print out, or use as a model, a letter linked here to request that their grades by reported to an advisor in the athletic program. After filling all the blanks, they should give the letter to Dr. Railsback.

1121 Field Trip opportunities.


Email to Railsback (rlsbk@gly.uga.edu)
Railsback's main web page
UGA Geology Department web page